It was at the 3-4 score that Martin Schindler provided one of the highlights of this year’s Players Championship Finals. With shots of 180, 140 and 149 points, the German had made 32 points with only nine throws. An arrow later, the break was made and the equalizer was brought about against Chris Dobey. Ultimately the decisive moment to take the Englishman out of the tournament a little later with 6:5.

Schindler also documented his class in the decider, threw two 180s, survived even small mistakes at the end and finally used his fifth match dart on double 1 to make it into the round of 16. The 26-year-old, who played an average of 91.64, is in the last 16 of a major tournament for the first time at the World Cup dress rehearsal.

The Schindler, which is now in the top 30 in the world rankings, will now meet a world champion in its round of 16 on Saturday evening (live from 8 p.m. on DAZN): Englishman Rob Cross defeated Gary Anderson from Scotland in the decider with 6: 5.

This also gives Schindler the opportunity to take revenge. Two weeks ago at the Grand Slam of Darts he lost his last group game 4:5 against “Voltage” and was eliminated after several missed match darts.

Schindler is the last remaining German in Minehead. Ricardo Pietreczko, who, as number 64 on the seeding list, beat number one for the first time in tournament history on Friday, lost his second round match against Callan Rydz 3:6.

1 round:

Damon Heta (AUS/1) – Ricardo Pietreczko (D) 5:6

Callan Rydz (ENG/33) – Madars Razma (LAT) 6:5

Andrew Gilding (ENG/16) – Ricky Evans (ENG) 6:2

Adrian Lewis (ENG/17) – Keane Barry (IRL) 4:6

Gerwyn Price (WAL/8) – Ryan Joyce (ENG) 5:6

Brendan Dolan (NIR/25) – Jermaine Wattimena (NED) 3:6

Gian van Veen (ENG) – Ross Smith (ENG) 2:6

Jonny Clayton (WAL/24) – John O‘Shea (ENG) 6:0

Dirk van Duijvenbode (NED/4) – Mickey Mansell (NIR) 6:5

Daryl Gurney (NIR/29) – Keegan Brown (ENG) 6:3

Ryan Searle (ENG/13) – Mervyn King (ENG) 6:4

Stephen Bunting (ENG/20) – Jamie Hughes (ENG) 4:6

Rob Cross (ENG/5) – Kevin Doets (NL) 6:3

Gabriel Clemens (D/28) – Gary Anderson (SCO) 4:6

Martin Schindler (D/12) – Vincent van der Voort (NED) 6:4

Chris Dobey (ENG/21) – Geert Nentjes (NED) 6:1

Luke Humphries (ENG/2) – Nathan Rafferty (NIR) 6:3

Jim Williams (WAL/31) – Mike De Decker (NED) 4:6

Krzysztof Ratajski (POL/15) – William O’Connor (IRL) 6:4

Jose De Sousa (POR/18) – Danny Jansen (NED) 6:2

Dave Chisnall (ENG/7) – Niels Zonneveld (NED) 6:3

Scott Williams (ENG/26) – Alan Soutar (SCO) 6:4

Joe Cullen (ENG/10) – Rowby-John Rodriguez (AUT) 6:2

Kim Huybrechts (BEL/23) – Raymond van Barneveld (NED) 6:4

Nathan Aspinall (ENG/3) – Martijn Kleermaker (ENG) 4:6

Matt Campbell (CAN/30) – Steve Beaton (ENG) 6:3

Danny Noppert (NED/14) – Simon Whitlock (AUS) 6:1

James Wade (ENG/19) – Mensur Suljovic (AUT) 6:2

Michael Smith (ENG/6) – Ritchie Edhouse (ENG) 5:6

Dimitri Van den Bergh (BEL/27) – Martin Lukeman (ENG) 6:5

Josh Rock (NIR/11) – Cameron Menzies (SCO) 3:6

Michael van Gerwen (ENG/22) – Ryan Meikle (ENG) 6:3

2nd round:

Ricardo Pietreczko (D) – Callan Rydz (ENG/33) 3:6

Andrew Gilding (ENG/16) – Keane Barry (IRL) 5:6

Ryan Joyce (ENG) – Jermaine Wattimena (NED) 6:3

Ross Smith (ENG) – Jonny Clayton (WAL/24) 5:6

Dirk van Duijvenbode (NED/4) – Daryl Gurney (NIR/29) 6:1

Ryan Searle (ENG/13) – Jamie Hughes (ENG) 6:1

Rob Cross (ENG/5) – Gary Anderson (SCO) 6:5

Martin Schindler (D/12) – Chris Dobey (ENG/21) 6:5

Luke Humphries (ENG/2) – Mike De Decker (NED) 6:4

Krzysztof Ratajski (POL/15) – Jose De Sousa (POR/18) 6:1

Dave Chisnall (ENG/7) – Scott Williams (ENG/26) 4:6

Joe Cullen (ENG/10) – Kim Huybrechts (BEL/23)

Martijn Kleermaker (NED) – Matt Campbell (CAN/30) 4:6

Danny Noppert (NED/14) – James Wade (ENG/19) 6:1

Ritchie Edhouse (ENG) – Dimitri Van den Bergh (BEL/27) 5:6

Cameron Menzies (SCO) – Michael van Gerwen (NED/22)

Round of 16:

Callan Rydz (ENG/33) – Keane Barry (IRL)

Ryan Joyce (ENG) – Jonny Clayton (WAL/24)

Dirk van Duijvenbode (NED/4) – Ryan Searle (ENG/13)

Rob Cross (ENG/5) – Martin Schindler (D/12)

Luke Humphries (ENG/2) – Krzysztof Ratajski (POL/15)

Scott Williams (ENG/26) – Joe Cullen (ENG/10)/Kim Huybrechts (BEL/23)

Matt Campbell (CAN/30) – Danny Noppert (NED/14)

Dimitri Van den Bergh (BEL/27) – Cameron Menzies (SCO)/Michael van Gerwen (NED/22)