The NHL Awards ceremony is an annual event that celebrates the outstanding players and coaches of the hockey season. This year, the awards were presented starting from May 14 with the Mark Messier NHL Leadership Award and will conclude on June 28 with the E.J. McGuire Award of Excellence.

Each award has its own criteria and is determined by different groups within the hockey community. For example, the Mark Messier NHL Leadership Award is given to a player who demonstrates exceptional leadership both on and off the ice, as well as in their community. This year, the award went to Jacob Trouba of the New York Rangers.

Another notable award is the Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy, which honors a player who embodies perseverance, sportsmanship, and dedication to the sport. Connor Ingram was the deserving winner this year.

Other awards include the Frank J. Selke Trophy for the best defensive forward, the Jack Adams Award for the top coach, the King Clancy Memorial Trophy for leadership and humanitarian efforts, the Lady Byng Memorial Trophy for sportsmanship and skill, and the Jim Gregory General Manager of the Year Award for the league’s top general manager.

The NHL also recognizes individuals who have made a positive impact on their communities through hockey with the Willie O’Ree Community Hero Award. This year’s winners were Mark DeMontis from Canada and Jerry DeVaul from the U.S.

The most anticipated awards of the night are the Calder Memorial Trophy for the best rookie, the Hart Memorial Trophy for the most valuable player, the James Norris Memorial Trophy for the top defenseman, the Ted Lindsay Award for the most outstanding player as voted by their peers, and the Vezina Trophy for the best goaltender.

Overall, the NHL Awards ceremony is a prestigious event that honors the hard work, dedication, and talent of the league’s players and coaches. It is a time to celebrate the achievements of the past season and look forward to the excitement of the upcoming year in hockey.