Saxony-Anhalt’s Prime Minister Reiner Haseloff (CDU) is to be a member of the ZDF Board of Directors in the future. The prime ministers agreed on this at their meeting last week. A government spokesman in Saxony-Anhalt confirmed corresponding information from conference circles on Wednesday at the request of the German Press Agency.

Haseloff is a new member of the board, as the former Prime Minister of Saxony Stanislaw Tillich is leaving at the end of his term of office in the summer. There will once again be four state representatives on the committee, which will monitor the work of the director of the public broadcaster in Mainz, especially in budgetary matters, i.e. finances and investments.

The current chairman of the ZDF board of directors is the Rhineland-Palatinate Prime Minister Malu Dreyer (SPD), other members of the federal states are the Bavarian Prime Minister Markus Söder (CSU) and his Brandenburg counterpart Dietmar Woidke (SPD). The three country heads should also belong to the board of directors in the next term of office, as the circles said.

The ZDF Board of Directors has a total of twelve members. In addition to four state representatives, who are appointed by the prime ministers, eight are elected by the independent television council at ZDF. As a body, the television council is a kind of cross-section of society.

The members monitor the program work of the station. They come from business, politics, religious communities, associations or clubs, among others. The ZDF administrative board members elected by the television council may not be part of a government or a member of the Bundestag or state parliaments. The composition of the council is regulated in the ZDF state treaty of the federal states.